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April 22, 2020

California Winegrape Inspection Marketing Agreement

Notice of 2020-2021 Fiscal Year Inspection Fees

TO THE VINTNER/PROCESSOR ADDRESSED:

The California Department of Food and Agriculture (Department), upon the recommendation of the
Winegrape Inspection Advisory Board (Board), has established winegrape inspection fees for the
2020-2021 fiscal year, which is the period May 1, 2020 through April 30, 2021.

The California Winegrape Inspection Marketing Agreement (Agreement) is authorized to conduct
third-party inspection of winegrapes and conduct research relating to inspection procedures for
winegrapes. The funds for administering the Agreement are generated by inspection fees levied
equitably upon winegrape vintners/processors who have signed-up to participate in the
Agreement and the winegrape growers who sell product to signatory vintners/processors.
Mandatory third-party inspections of winegrapes are governed by the provisions of Chapter 3 of
Division 16 (being Sections 41101-41511) of the California Food and Agricultural Code.

For vintners/processors who require the inspection of up to 3,499 tons per week (Sunday
through Saturday), inspection fees are:

e $85.00 per regular hour (4-hour minimum) + $127.50 per overtime hour (after 8 hours) +
$170.00 per overtime hour (after 12 hours), for a total not to exceed the maximum
allowed under the California Marketing Act (Act)

e To be paid 50% by the vintner/processor and 50% by the grower

For vintners/processors who require the inspection of 3,500 tons or more per week (Sunday
through Saturday), inspection fees are:

e $0.96 per ton, for a total not to exceed the maximum allowed under the Act
e To be paid 50% by the vintner/processor and 50% by the grower

The inspection fees for all volume categories are unchanged from the previous year. Additional
inspection fees are as follows:

Reinspections
e An additional $0.96 per ton (including tonnage originally inspected at the minimum daily
rate), for a total not to exceed the maximum allowed under the Act
o To be paid by the party requesting the reinspection
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Special Inspections (requests for inspections by individuals who are not signatories to the
Agreement)
e $170.00 per regular hour (8-hour minimum) + $255.00 per overtime hour (after 8 hours)
+ $340.00 per overtime hour (after 12 hours) + mileage + expenses, as applicable, for a
total not to exceed the maximum allowed under the Act
o To be paid by the party requesting the inspection

Rejected/Voided Inspection Certificates
e $25.00 charge for each rejection/voided inspection certificate
e To be paid 50% by the vintner/processor and 50% by the grower

The inspection fees (or the assessment) are split evenly between growers and
vintners/processors, unless noted otherwise. In order to facilitate the collection of the
assessment, vintner/processors are required to remit both their portion of the assessment, as well
as the grower’s portion of the assessment. A vintner/processor may subsequently deduct the
assessment paid on behalf of a grower from any money owed by him/her to the grower. The
Board office will contact you with additional information about the procedures for remitting
assessments.

If you have any questions about the inspection fees or the California Winegrape Inspection
Marketing Agreement, please contact John Gilstrap, Manager of the Winegrape Inspection
Advisory Board at (559) 591-4960, or Mirek Wilczek with the Department’s Marketing Branch at
(916) 900-5018.

Sincerely,

Joerl

Joe Monson, Branch Chief
Marketing Branch
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