CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
FOOD & AGRICULTURE

J‘/\ Karen Ross, Secretary

September 10, 2020

CALIFORNIA RICE COMMISSION

ASSESSMENT CAP INCREASE APPROVED BY PRODUCERS AND HANDLERS

TO ALL INTERESTED PARTIES:

The California Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) recently conducted a referendum
among California rice producers and handlers to determine whether they favor increasing the
maximum allowable assessment rate of the California Rice Commission (Commission) from fifteen
cents ($0.15) per hundredweight to twenty cents ($0.20) per hundredweight, split equally between
producers and handlers. The voting for this referendum concluded on August 3, 2020 and the
Department has finalized its tally of all ballots received for this process. A summary of the voting
results is presented in the table below:

Producers Handlers

Participation percentage: 41.14% 87.50%
Percentage of thpse voting in favor of increasing the 73.38% 85.71%
assessment cap:

Percentage of volume represented by those voting in favor of 75.58% 93.30%

increasing the assessment cap:

These results meet the criteria provided in the Commission Law to increase the assessment cap.
Specifically, in order for the assessment cap to be increased, at least 40 percent of both producers
and handlers must submit valid ballots, and of those voting, at least 65 percent of producers and
handlers, representing a majority of the voted volume, must vote in favor of increasing the
assessment cap, or of those voting, a majority of producers and handlers, representing at least 65
percent of the voted volume, must vote in favor of increasing the assessment cap.

Based upon this supportive vote from the rice industry, the Commission may establish an
assessment rate of up to twenty cents ($0.20) per hundredweight, split equally between producers
and handlers, for rice delivered to handlers by producers beginning in the 2021-2022 fiscal year,
which starts on September 1, 2021. The Commission’s practice of setting an assessment rate
annually is not affected by this change.

An updated version of the California Rice Commission Law is available at:
www.cdfa.ca.gov/mkt/mkt/ordslaws.html. If you have questions regarding the California Rice
Commission please contact Tim Johnson, President and CEO of the Commission, at (916) 387-
2264. For questions regarding the referendum, please contact Kacie Fritz with the Department’s
Marketing Branch at (916) 900-5018.

Sincerely,

ot

Joe Monson, Branch Chief
Marketing Branch
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