
 

 
                 

                    

 
 

 

   
 

       
   

 
  

                                 
  

 
     

     
      

        
         

 
  

    
     

    
     

  
 

     
       

   
     
        

   
 
     

  
 

 
  

  
 

 
  

  
       

 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF 
FOOD & AGRICULTURE 

Karen Ross, Secretary 

June 4, 2020 

REFERENDUM NOTICE 

To Consider a Proposed Assessment Rate Cap Increase for
the California Rice Commission 

Voting Deadline: August 3, 2020 

To the California Rice Handler Addressed: 

At the request of the California Rice Commission (Commission), the California Department of Food 
and Agriculture (Department) is conducting a referendum among California rice handlers and 
producers to consider an increase in the Commission’s maximum allowable assessment rate of 
fifteen cents ($0.15) per hundredweight (cwt.). Such an increase is allowed by the Commission 
Law provided it is approved by handlers and producers in an industry vote. 

Proposed Changes 

The proposed change to the Commission Law is to increase the maximum allowable assessment 
rate from fifteen cents ($0.15) per cwt. to twenty cents ($0.20) per cwt., split equally between 
handlers and producers.  The proposed change to Article 6 is presented below with additions 
shown in blue italics and deletions are shown in red strikethrough. 

ARTICLE 6. Assessments and Records 

71120. (a) The commission shall establish the assessment for the marketing season not later than September 1 of 
each year or as soon thereafter as is possible. The assessment shall not exceed fifteen cents ($0.15) twenty cents 
($0.20) per hundredweight for rice delivered to handlers by producers.  Of the assessment, not more than seven and a 
half cents ($0.075) ten cents ($0.10) per hundredweight shall be assessed against handlers, and not more than seven 
and a half cents ($0.075) ten cents ($0.10) per hundredweight shall be assessed against producers. The assessment 
rate shall be the same for handlers and producers. 

The Commission is proposing the increase in the assessment rate cap to ensure access to 
adequate funding in the future to address increased environmental regulatory programs, including 
the Rice Waste Discharge Requirement, and to maintain the level of services the Commission 
currently provides to the industry. The Commission’s practice of setting an assessment rate 
annually would not be affected by the proposed change. 

Voting Materials & Criteria for Voting 
Enclosed with this mailing are a ballot and postage-paid return envelope for your use in this 
referendum.  The ballot contains instructions on how to properly certify your voting eligibility and how 
to cast your vote. Please be sure to sign your ballot.  

CDFA Marketing Branch ● 1220 N Street ● Sacramento, California 95814 State of California 
Telephone: 916.900.5018 ● Fax: 916.900.5343 ● www.cdfa.ca.gov/mkt/mkt Gavin Newsom, Governor 

www.cdfa.ca.gov/mkt/mkt


 
 

 
 
 

  
      

  
   

 
      

      
 

      
    

 

  

    
       

 
 

      
     

  
      

       
  

 
 

  
   

 
 

      
   

 
 

    

   
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Rice Commission Referendum 
June 4, 2020 
Page 2 

ELIGIBILITY: 
• Pursuant to Section 71026 of the Commission Law, "Handler" means any person who is 

engaged in this state in the business of marketing rice who handles 100,000 hundredweight 
or more of rough or "paddy" rice, or the equivalent amount of milled rice during a marketing 
season. 

• Each handler is entitled to ONE vote.  If you are affiliated with a separate legal entity that did 
not receive a ballot, please call the Department at (916) 900-5018 to obtain an official ballot 
for that entity. 

• If you no longer qualify as a rice handler, please let us know by checking the box in the top 
right corner of the ballot, sign the ballot, and return it in the enclosed return envelope. 

In order for the proposed change to be made effective, the Commission Law specifies that: 

• At least 40% of the California rice handlers on record and at least 40% of the California rice 
producers on record must cast valid ballots, and one of the following must occur for both 
handlers and producers: 

(a) At least 65% of the eligible entities who vote in the referendum must vote in favor of 
the proposal, and they must represent a majority of the total voted quantity of rice 
produced/handled in the preceding marketing season, OR 

(b) A majority of the eligible entities who vote in the referendum must vote in favor of the 
proposal, and they must represent at least 65% of the total voted quantity of rice 
produced/handled in the preceding marketing season. 

Voting Period 
In order for your ballot to be counted, it must be properly signed, completed and received by the 
Department, postmarked no later than August 3, 2020. 

Voting Results 

The Department encourages all rice handlers and producers to vote in this referendum. The 
Department will announce a summary of the referendum results following tabulation of the ballots. 
All individual votes will be kept confidential. 

If you have questions regarding the referendum, please call Kacie Fritz of the Department’s 
Marketing Branch at (916) 900-5095.  If you have specific questions about the activities of the 
California Rice Commission, please call Tim Johnson, President and CEO of the Commission, at 
(916) 387-2264.  

Sincerely, 

Joe Monson, Branch Chief 
Marketing Branch 

Enclosures 

2020 0505 | 2020 0522 | 0395 
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