
 

 
 
 

              
          

 

 
 

 
 

    
     

 
 

  
  

 

 
  

      
    

 
 

   
   

 
     

  
  

      
      

      
    

 
     

      
     

    
 

     
      

  

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF 
FOOD & AGRICULTURE 

Karen Ross, Secretary 

July 24, 2020 

CALIFORNIA WILD RICE PROGRAM 

2020-2021 ASSESSMENT RATE SET AT $10.00 PER HARVESTED ACRE 

To All Producers of California Wild Rice: 

Upon the recommendation of the California Wild Rice Board (Board), the California 
Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) has established an assessment rate 
for the California Wild Rice Program (Program) of $10.00 per harvested acre on all wild 
rice acreage harvested by producers during the Program’s 2020-2021 marketing 
season, which is June 1, 2020 through May 31, 2021.  This assessment rate reflects an 
increase of $1.00 per harvested acre over last year’s rate. 

The assessment will be collected in two installments: 
• $5.00 per harvested acre will be due on October 15, 2020. 
• $5.00 per harvested acre will be due on February 15, 2021. 

The Board uses the revenue generated from this assessment to carry out promotion 
and research activities on behalf of the California wild rice industry. 

To facilitate collection of assessments, an acreage survey was recently conducted by the 
Program to determine the projected 2020-2021 harvested acreage of each producer of 
California wild rice.  Assessment forms will be mailed to all producers prior to the due date 
for the first installment of the 2020-2021 assessment. 

Assessments on unharvested acres will not be collected.  However, to avoid payment of 
assessments on unharvested acres, verification of non-harvested acres will be required by 
at least one Board member or alternate member in your District.  Please contact the Board 
office for additional details regarding the procedure to verify unharvested acreage. 

Assessments are due and payable on the aforementioned due dates and will 
considered delinquent if not paid within 15 days immediately thereafter. Pursuant to 
Section 58930 of the California Food and Agricultural Code, a 10% late payment charge 
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may be imposed if assessments are delinquent, plus a penalty of 5% of the unpaid 
balance for each 30 days the assessment is unpaid. 

If you have any questions regarding the assessment rate or the California Wild Rice 
Board, please contact Todd Sanders, Manager of the California Wild Rice Board, at (559) 
221-1800, or David Hillis with the Department’s Marketing Branch at (916) 900-5018. 

Sincerely, 

Joe Monson, Branch Chief 
Marketing Branch 
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