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November 27, 2019 

Revised Dairy Council 2019-2020 FY Assessment Rates Established 
January 1, 2020 - June 30, 2020 

To All California Milk Producers and Handlers: 

The Board of Directors of the Dairy Council of California recently recommended, and the 
Department of Food and Agriculture has approved, the revised assessment rates below for the 
second half of the Dairy Council’s 2019-2020 FY (January 1, 2020 - June 30, 2020). 
 

Handler 
$0.0140 / cwt. for milk utilized in Class I products 

$0.0070 / cwt. for milk utilized for all other usages 

Producer 
$0.00144 / pound for quota solids-not-fat 

$0.00072 / pound for non-quota solids-not-fat 

These revised rates were established to be aligned with the new assessment provisions within the 
Dairy Council Law, which were recently amended via the passage of AB 590.  These revised 
assessment rates have been set to generate the same total assessment revenue as the rates 
previously set for the 2019-2020 fiscal year.  In addition to being revenue-neutral, these revised 
rates also accomplish the following legislative intentions.  

• For handlers, the revised rates shift some assessment obligation from milk utilized for 
Class I products to milk utilized for all other usages.  

• For producers, the revised rates place an increased relative share of the assessment 
obligation upon solids-not-fat coved by quota.   

 
As in the past, handlers will continue to be responsible for remitting both the handler and producer 
assessments to the Department.  Handlers shall pay the handler assessments for milk utilized in 
the handler’s plant.  Producer assessments shall be collected by the first handler of milk produced 
in California by deducting such assessments from any payment due the producer for such milk.  
 
The Department will provide handlers with instructions via separate correspondence on how to 
calculate their revised assessment obligations.  If you have questions about such calculations, 
please call Steven Donaldson of CDFA at (916) 900-5012.  If you have questions regarding the 
activities of the Dairy Council, please call Tammy Anderson-Wise, CEO of the Dairy Council, at 
(916) 263-3560. 

 
Sincerely, 
 
 

 
Joe Monson, Assistant Branch Chief 
Marketing Branch 
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