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California Winegrape Inspection Marketing Agreement 

Notice of 2019-2020 Fiscal Year Inspection Fees 
 

 
 
 
TO THE VINTNER/PROCESSOR ADDRESSED: 
 
The California Department of Food and Agriculture (Department), upon the recommendation 

of the California Winegrape Inspection Advisory Board (Board), has established winegrape 

inspection fees for the 2019-2020 fiscal year being May 1, 2019 through April 30, 2020.   

 

The Board is authorized to conduct third-party inspection of winegrapes as well as to 

conduct research relating to inspection procedures for winegrapes. The funds for 

administering this program are generated by assessments levied equitably upon 

winegrape vintners/processors that have signed-up to participate in the Winegrape 

Inspection Marketing Agreement and the winegrape growers who sell to them.  

Mandatory third-party inspections of winegrapes are governed by the provisions of 

Chapter 3 of Division 16 (being Sections 41101-41511) of the California Food and 

Agricultural Code. 

 

For wineries that require the inspection of up to 3,499 tons per week (Sunday through 

Saturday) 

• $85.00 per regular hour (4 hr. minimum) + $127.50 per overtime hour (after 8 

hours) + $170.00 per overtime hour (after 12 hours), for a total not to exceed the 

limits of the Marketing Act 

• 50% of the fees must be paid by the vintner and 50% must be paid by the grower 

 

For wineries that require the inspection of 3,500 tons or more per week (Sunday through 

Saturday) 

• $0.96 per ton 

• 50% of the fees must be paid by the vintner and 50% must be paid by the grower 
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The inspection fee for all volume categories is unchanged from the previous year. 

 

Special Inspections 

• $170.00 per regular hour (8 hr. minimum) + $255.00 per overtime hour (after 8 

hours) + $340.00 per overtime hour (after 12 hours) + mileage + expenses, as 

applicable, for a total not to exceed the limits of the Marketing Act 

• To be paid by the party requesting the inspection 

 

Reinspections 

• $0.96 per ton (including tonnage originally inspected at the minimum daily rate), 

not to exceed the limits of the Marketing Act 

• To be paid by the party requesting the inspection 

 

Rejected/Voided Inspection Certificates 

• $25.00 charge for each rejection/voided inspection certificate 

 

The assessments are split evenly between growers and vintners/processors.  In order to 

facilitate the collection of the assessments, vintner/processors are required to remit their 

portion of the assessment, as well as the grower’s.  A vintner/processor may subsequently 

deduct the assessments paid on behalf of a grower from any money owed by him/her to 

said grower.  The Board office will contact you with details on the procedure to remit 

assessments. 

 

If you have any questions on the inspection fees or the Marketing Agreement, please 

contact John Gilstrap, Manager of the Winegrape Inspection Board at (559) 591-4960, or 

call Ben Kardokus at this office. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Robert Maxie, Chief 

Marketing Branch 
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