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September 5, 2016 

 

 

CALIFORNIA WILD RICE PROGRAM  

2016-2017 Assessment Set at $10.00 Per Harvested Acre 

 

 

To All Producers of California Wild Rice: 

 

Upon the recommendation of the California Wild Rice Advisory Board (Board), the California 

Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) has established an assessment rate for the 

California Wild Rice Program (Program) of $10.00 per harvested acre on all wild rice acreage 

harvested by producers during the Program’s 2016-2017 fiscal year, being June 1, 2016 through 

May 31, 2017.  The assessment rate is the same as last year.   

 

As in past years, the assessment will be collected in two installments. 

 Five dollars ($5.00) per harvested acre will be due on October 15, 2016. 

 Five dollars ($5.00) per harvested acre will be due on February 15, 2017. 

 

The Board will use the assessment funds to carry out promotion and research activities on behalf 

of the California wild rice industry. 

  

You have received, or will receive in the near future, a producer acreage survey from the Board 

office.  Each producer needs to complete the survey and return it to the Board.  Based on the survey 

and other relevant information, the Board staff will develop a list of all California wild rice producers 

and their projected 2016-2017 harvested acreage.  The Board will then send out assessment forms 

prior to the October 15
th
 due date for the first installment of the 2016-2017 assessment. 

 

Assessments on unharvested acres will not be collected.  However, to avoid payment of assessments 

on unharvested acres, verification of non-harvested acres will be required by at least one of the Board 

members or alternate members in your District.  Please contact the Board office for additional details 

regarding the procedure to verify unharvested acreage. 
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Assessments are due and payable on the aforementioned due dates and will become delinquent if 

not paid within 15 days immediately thereafter.  In addition, pursuant to Section 58930 of the Food 

and Agricultural Code, a 10% late payment charge may be imposed, plus a penalty of 5% of the 

unpaid balance for each 30 days the assessment is unpaid.  

If you have any questions regarding the assessment rate, or the California Wild Rice Board, please 

contact Fred Klose, Manager of the California Wild Rice Board, at (916) 863-0312, or contact   

David Hillis of this office at (916) 900-5018. 

Sincerely, 

Robert Maxie, Chief 

Marketing Branch 
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