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August 7, 2015 

 

 

California Wild Rice Program 2015-2016 Assessment 

Set at $10.00 Per Harvested Acre 

 

 

TO ALL CALIFORNIA WILD RICE PRODUCERS: 

 

Upon the recommendation of the California Wild Rice Advisory Board (Board), the California 

Department of Food and Agriculture (Department) has established an assessment rate for the 

California Wild Rice Program (Program) of $10.00 per harvested acre on all wild rice acreage 

harvested by producers during the Program’s 2015-2016 fiscal year (June 1, 2015 through May 31, 

2016).  The assessment rate is the same as last year.  The industry has requested this amount to 

ensure that the Program will have sufficient resources to continue providing a high level of service. 

 

As in past years, the assessment will be collected in two installments. 

 Five dollars ($5.00) per harvested acre will be due on October 15, 2015. 

 Five dollars ($5.00) per harvested acre will be due on February 15, 2016. 

 

The Board will use the assessment funds to carry out promotion and research activities on behalf 

of the California wild rice industry. 

  

You have received, or will receive in the near future, a producer acreage survey from the Board 

office.  Each producer needs to complete the survey and return it to the Board.  Based on the survey 

and other relevant information, the Board staff will develop a list of all California wild rice producers 

and their projected 2015-2016 harvested acreage.  The Board will then send out assessment forms 

prior to the October 15
th
 due date for the first installment of the 2015-2016 assessment. 

 

Assessments on unharvested acres will not be collected.  However, to avoid payment of assessments 

on unharvested acres, verification of non-harvested acres will be required by at least one of the Board 

members or alternate members in your District.  Please contact the Board office for additional details 

regarding the procedure to verify unharvested acreage. 
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Assessments are due and payable on the aforementioned due dates and will become 

delinquent if not paid within 15 days immediately thereafter.  In addition, pursuant to 

Section 58930 of the Food and Agricultural Code, a 10% late payment charge may be 

imposed, plus a penalty of 5% of the unpaid balance for each 30 days the assessment is 

unpaid.  

 

If you have any questions regarding the assessment rate, or the California Wild Rice Board, please feel 

free to call Fred Klose, Manager of the California Wild Rice Board, at (916) 863-0312, or contact   

David Hillis of this office at (916) 900-5018. 

 

Sincerely,  

 

 

 

Robert Maxie, Chief 

Marketing Branch 
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