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July 2, 2014  
 
 

California Wild Rice Program 2014-2015 Assessment 
Set at $10.00 Per Harvested Acre 

 

 
TO ALL CALIFORNIA WILD RICE PRODUCERS: 
 

Upon the recommendation of the California Wild Rice Advisory Board (Board), the California 
Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) has established an assessment rate for the 
California Wild Rice Program of $10.00 per harvested acre on all wild rice acreage harvested 
by producers during the Program’s 2014-2015 fiscal year (June 1, 2014 through May 31, 
2015).  The assessment rate is the same as last year.  The industry has requested this amount 
to ensure that the Program will have sufficient resources to continue providing a high level of 
service. 

 
As in past years, the assessment will be collected in two installments. 

 Five dollars ($5.00) per harvested acre will be due on October 15, 2014. 
 Five dollars ($5.00) per harvested acre will be due on February 15, 2015. 

 
The Board will use the assessment funds to carry out promotion and research activities on 
behalf of the California wild rice industry. 
  
You have received, or will receive in the near future, a producer acreage survey from the Board 
office.  Each producer needs to complete the survey and return it to the Board.  Based on the 
survey and other relevant information, the Board staff will develop a list of all California wild 

rice producers and their projected 2014-2015 harvested acreage.  The Board will then send out 
assessment forms prior to the October 15 due date for the first installment of the 2014-2015 
assessment. 
 
Assessments on unharvested acres will not be collected.  However, to avoid payment of 
assessments on unharvested acres, verification of non-harvested acres will be required by at 
least one of the Board members or alternate members in your District.  Please contact the Board 
office for additional details regarding the procedure to verify unharvested acreage. 
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Assessments are due and payable on the aforementioned due dates and will become 
delinquent if not paid within 15 days immediately thereafter.  In addition, pursuant to 
Section 58930 of the Food and Agricultural Code, a 10% late payment charge may be 
imposed, plus a penalty of 5% of the unpaid balance for each 30 days the assessment is 
unpaid.  
 

If you have any questions regarding the assessment rate, or the California Wild Rice Board, 
please feel free to call Fred Klose, Manager of the California Wild Rice Board, at (916) 863-0312, 
or call  David Hillis of this office at (916) 900-5018. 
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
 
Robert Maxie, Chief 
Marketing Branch 
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